24 Hours

In the last 24 hours, I have…

– allocated my final school loan check to: pay off both of my cell phones, return money I borrowed from savings, stash the remainder of my half of my car loan (thanks, mom!), and buy a new/slightly improved couch;
– rearranged my living room;
– re-learned statistics and completed the second third of my dissertation (method/stats/results);
– put up Valentine’s Day decorations and changed out front window lights from white/blue to red;
– read the second third of 1984;
– caught up on work notes and re-organized my work binder for next week;
– listed four books for sale;
– caught up on items to toss/donate (I was about a week behind); AND
– did this all by turning my phone/apple watch/macbook to DND/airplane mode.

It’s amazing what we can accomplish when we reduce our dependence on connectivity. I still let Google read me the news this morning and kept on top of my emails (well, I deleted the junk; I haven’t yet addressed any of the ones still sitting in my inbox), it was just Insta & SnapChat & messages & Twitter that I needed to create some space from. Deleting FB from my phone and computer bookmarks has been fantastic and I’ve been easily able to avoid the few urges I’ve had in the last week to check it. I’m just so much less stressed without it. I’ll have to go back eventually (could use some stuff from the marketplace and I’ll want to seek out local events again), but maybe I’ll revamp it. Or create an entirely new account just for things like marketplace and events. Hmmm…not a bad idea.

As an aside, and in follow-up to my last post (NYRs), I’m still going strong. Some things have changed, like being less detailed with my notes, failing at both 30-day challenges, and slacking in the water department, but overall I’m pretty certain that I’m continuing to lose weight. My “big girl” belt that I bought because I thought I needed a bigger one but then wound up poking a hole in it because it was too big now spins around and is pretty pointless. My muffin top is starting to look more cupcake than muffin, and when I went to the doctor last week, I was one pound lighter than I was a year ago, which is 7 pounds less than I was six months ago. My clothes are beginning to fit again, and not feel snug and uncomfortable. It’s not much, since it’s only been 5 weeks and I’m not increasing exercise (just trying to hit the daily 330 active calorie goal that my apple watch set for me), but it’s definitely been something, and that seems to be enough to motivate me to keep going. Sticking to < 1500 calories (with an ideal of 1200) isn’t actually as hard as I thought it would be. And it turns out I can eat a much healthier diet as long as I let myself continue to indulge on the less healthy stuff once in a while.

So if you don’t count politics, so far 2017 isn’t such a bad year.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

