New Adventures

I have spent almost a full month in Worcester, save for a week in the middle where I went back to NY for fun times and hard work selling a small selection of my accrued belongings. A lot has happened since I moved here…and I can say with some significant degree of certainty that I enjoyed the shit out of my few weeks off between the end of work and the start of internship. I actually spent a portion of the middle of this week mourning the loss of that time.

I’ve decided to document some of the highlights, mostly because I’m actually concerned I won’t remember it. First of all, beaches. I found the time to make it to two of them out on the east coast, Salisbury and Revere. Both interesting and very different from one another. I had my first lobster roll on my trip to Salisbury, at a place called The Happy Traveler. It was expensive…but delicious. Revere was more like chillin’ in the BK…city on one side of the street, beach on the other.

Having a roommate has been awesome so far. He dragged me out for bumper boats, mini golf, and ice cream at Kimball Farm in Westford, which I really appreciated and enjoyed. We also had a night out a few weeks back and decided to go to LGBT night at a bar/club around here called Electric Haze after stopping for a drink at Compass Tavern first. There I met a few friends of his, including a dude I called Barney Stinson all night because…well, because if he didn’t have a Playbook, he’ll probably eventually create one. Barney was potentially the world’s worst dancer, but had absolutely zero shame. He tried to get me to come out the following week, asking three times in a row before finally accepting that I was going to have an intimate evening with my couch and Sense8. I don’t expect him to ask me out again.

Maintenance had to come by a few days in row for various reasons, until eventually it seemed like they were breaking things just to come back. I asked [dude whose name is now Maintenance] if that was the case, but he continues to claim it wasn’t. He asked me out and I said yes, but I think I only said yes because saying, “how about Netflix and chill?” isn’t really socially acceptable yet, and I’m pretty sure he wouldn’t have known what the hell I was talking about. He took me on a mini tour of the neighborhood and fed me sushi, so there was a little more than the basics.

The first week of work was absolutely an amalgam of experiences and emotions. I met a fellow intern two days prior to the start of the job for a poetry slam, where we served as judges and also met an interesting gentleman who appreciates decent scotch and can engage in intelligent banter. That was a pleasant and unexpected change for my life. The following night the two of us met a third intern at her place for a wine and cheese night and then BAM! immediately immersed in internship. (Sorry, I’m a sucker for alliteration.)

HR day is a blur, as was the first day, at which point I was completely overwhelmed with information. I did manage to go on a sunset hike with the other cohort ladies on Wednesday after the complete burnout from information overload, which was fantastic and incredibly difficult. I really need to do more squats. Sigh. Thursday I went to a kundalini yoga session with one of the other interns, which was very different, but actually really interesting. And that brings us to today, the end of the week, where I ate wings and beers with Roomie and settled in to continue my Sense8 marathon until Mr. Witty Banter wound up being local and inquiring about my availability. So goodbye, blog world. I have a pseudo-date to get to. Peace. ❤

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

