Studyfest 2011 and a little insight

I consider this the first of 5 study events (the remaining being: midterms & finals for summer courses, midterms & finals for fall courses and the dreaded COMPS in between semesters). Wait. I guess that makes this the first of six study events. Whoops. I also guess I studied my face off for midterms as well this semester, but those were all at drastically different times (one per week for three weeks) and don’t really count as a festival of studying. Eh, potato potato. 😉

Having the next two full days to mix studying with whateverthefuckIwant has given me a clearer picture of myself. I have actually found myself saying, “as long as I can get [a certain amount] of studying done, I can go do [this thing I want to do].” On that list are yoga, shooting and bike riding. I wonder how long it would take me to bike ride to Philadelphia proper to go to yoga. I’ll have to find out where the Schuylkill River Trail could dump me into the city somehow. Google maps’ bike directions (in beta testing, but thanks, Google!) informs me it’s about 6 miles and a 30-minute ride to Kajal’s, which I am going to tomorrow. I wonder if tomorrow should be my test run. It would also keep me from riding back home later than 7-ish while it’s still light out, so I can get other things done without accidentally staying there for eight hours. I may never make it back up the hills of Manayunk, but so long as my legs are still functional, I could always just walk back up, bike in tow.

I honestly hope I get to do some of those things in the next two days. My brain is exceptionally more ambitious than my body. I’m anticipating that nice weather changes that. I’m also going to need to find a way to sleep outside, and soon.

So, thankfully, with these desires popping up (something I haven’t had much of since moving to Philly), I’m learning a little bit more about myself and things I might actually (gasp!) enjoy doing. Maybe I’m just jumping the gun though, since these are all fairly new things, and I’m the queen of starting new things and finishing none of them. At the very least I’ll find out what I don’t like, if I start and stop. Now if I could just get this damn studying done…sigh.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

