Grad schools, cookies, and more!

There’s always something I mean to write about, but oftentimes at the end of the day, I’m just so wiped out that the thought of writing more puts me to sleep.  So I forget, and then wind up posting something days later, nothing like that of my initial intention.  Maybe I’ll start carrying around a post-it pad, so I can “sticky” my planner to death with reminders.

Thursday I know I wanted to write about the grad school fair that Vinny and I attended in Manhattan.  Generally a public health related fair, Vin was looking for urban development and myself, the far-reaching psychology.  There was one school I knew would be in attendance (Adler School of Psychology) that would be applicable.  In addition to checking into their (Chicago-based) clinical programs, I stumbled upon the NOVA Southeastern table, which had both PhD and PsyD clinical programs.  The representative sucked me in; not only did I like him, I liked the way he sold the school/program.  So if I have to live in S. Florida for 5 years…y’know, I’m not wholly opposed to that.  If I can make it through 5 hurricane seasons and December 2012, I was meant to live.

The only other table(s) I sought information from were Adler’s and Columbia’s Teacher’s College.  The former was incredibly helpful, the latter seemed disinterested in discussing any psychology programs and kind of brushed me off.  It’s okay though; I took information on each of their programs to look into.  I guess my biggest concern (aside from admissions) would be the financial stuff.  I mean, I’m borrowing regardless, but out-of-state tuition is like double the resident one.  People do it though, so why (oh why) can’t I?  No ties, man.  No ties.  ❤

I’m sure there were tons of things I wanted to write about between Thursday and today, but naturally I have no idea what they are, so instead, today I perfected my chocolate chip cookies.  Last time I burned them, the time before that they were huge and flat.  This time: seriously utter perfection.  I also went food shopping at four different supermarkets (sales, sales, sales!) as well as joined my mother on a trip to King Kullen.  She bought me Chinese Food on the way home too, so not only did I get to bike ride, buy some foods and help my mom, but I got yummy lunch too.

I napped, as per usual, as well, but that was because I had intentions of going to NJ today, so I got up early enough to trek out there thus losing sleep.  Unfortunately, people were leaving there around 4, so I didn’t really want to drive out for 5 hours just to hang out for 3.  The good news was I busted ass to get all of my work done yesterday, so today I had absolutely nothing to do.  Well, except laundry, but that only really takes up about 30 minutes of my life.  Every time I put my clothes away, I realize just how much attire I own.  I would love to vary my outfits, but for some reason I just keep wearing the same shit over and over.  I have no idea why.  Fortunately, since I never give up hope on myself, maybe this time around I’ll do it. Heh.

I went jogging yesterday, even if only for 15 minutes.  The good news?  I didn’t hurt after, not even the next day.  Maybe it was the stretching, or the short trip, but the last time I went, it was for just about as long and I couldn’t move for two days.  I’m going to make Tuesdays/Thursdays/Saturdays jogging days.  Mondays and Wednesdays I walk around school (and up several flights of stairs), plus I get home late, and Fridays I’d like to just kind of have to myself.  I’m thinking I’ll go to dad’s on Sundays, so that I can stay over and go straight to school the next morning.

I’m still waiting to have the energy to do my school synopsis, but not quite this moment.  I’ve just put on the Futurama movie on, and it’s one of those movies you have to kind of pay attention to get more of the jokes.  Speaking of flicks though, I finally watched Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy — hilarious and genius.

And now, for something completely different.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

